The man who knew too much …about vintage

Some like it hot, some like it vintage… me? I like it green and vintage, but about my green and vintage dress another time.

I know you did not understand a thing. Well, let me be a little bit more clear: this post is about my passion for old movies and fashion. Last week  (yes, the holidays for me were all about the new house and movies, tones of movies) I saw The Man Who Knew too Much, an Alfred Hitchcock 1956 adventure mystery thriller that I very much enjoyed, about two American tourists vacationing in Morocco, Doris Day – one of the famous director’s blonds, however some say that Grace Kelly was Hitchcock’s first choice, but she had other contracts at that moment – and Jimmy Stewart – other opinions were that the relationship between Doris and Jimmy was not so intense as the case would have been if Grace had been his movie partner . But I liked it!

And now back to fashion: I loved one particular outfit of Doris due to its simplicity: a light blue dress together with a big straw hat and a perfect white handbag!Me? Liking a simple outfit? Yep! Apparently I am growing up, wink!

Isn’t this white bag a wonder?

 

5 thoughts on “The man who knew too much …about vintage

  1. I think you refer to Norman Norell designing Doris’ off-screen clothes, because Edith Head was the one who designed the costumes for The Man Who Knew Too Much. She perfectly understood the characters in a movie (especially in a Hitchcock film, as he was very strict, he took care of every single detail, including describing the characters’ costumes in the script) and she knew how to dress the actors for the part. That dress is so 50s and the bag quite unique. 🙂

    1. I know that usually Edith Head designed the clothes for most of Hitchcock movies, but I found some sources indicating Norman Norrel designing the clothes Doris wore in The Man who Knew too Much.

  2. I checked this in a book I have about Edith Head. It states that she was in charge of Doris Day’s costumes for this movie. I know sometimes more designers worked on the costumes for a film (one for the stars or main characters, another one for the men’s clothes and another one for all the rest of the cast) or that sometimes they simply shopped for some of the clothes, but the studio’s designer would take the overall credit. But I don’t know if this is the case. Anyway, you’ve made me veeery curious, so I’ll look into it and check other sources as well (the book seems very well documented though and I think it’s very accurate). 🙂

  3. My source is the internet, so probably your book is more reliable as a source and I also “googled” Edith Head and the movie and I found some articles that indicate Edith to be the designer. Hence, I’ll just split the post 🙂 :* I love that you know all the old movies and also amazed by your knowledge on their costumes designers, Ada!

  4. I say it once again, the book is very accurate. It also mentions of quite a few movies Edith took the credit for the costume designs when in fact they were designed by others (famous ones for that matter) just because that was the studio’s policy. That’s why I rely on it as a source. Well, I am very passionate about fashion-films and costume design blends these too so well that I want to learn so much about it. 🙂
    PS: Why I’m really interested in The Ides of March is because George Clooney directed it, not because he stars in it. He is a good actor, but he is a very good director. Ryan Gosling is very interesting and I think he is promising as an actor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

