Where we belong

A very dear friend of mine with whom I shared the school seat/desktop even since I was 7 years old send me a very nice catalog that was shot in the county where I (and her) were born: Maramures. So, I am proud to present you a little bit of the atmosphere. When I was a child, this spirit was so well known to me and did not consider it important because I spend a lot of my summer holidays with my grandparents that were (still are) living in a quite traditional village, but now I kind of miss it.

I personally like the idea, even though I read here that the girl is “clearly out of place, too overdressed for her surroundings and five inches taller than the locals. Is she in a witness protection program? If so, it’s not a very good disguise. She also has a clone-looking friend (sister?) who shows up in some of the photos. Together, they both have the appearance of being genetically engineered, advanced human specimens.

I will also like to add a song that is very suggestive for me: R.E.M – We all go back to where we belong!

Source: Anthropologie catalog – September 2011

4 thoughts on “Where we belong

  1. GREAT PICS:) I really like your blog and will happily follow…If you want som swedish inspiration you can check out my blog:) I wish you a very lovely weekend:)

    LOVE Maria at inredningsvis.se
    (Sweden)

  2. Well, I like it. I find the contrast between the clothes (which, let’s face it, aren’t haute couture, so that comment is totally irrelevant; oh, and that remark about the model being 5 inches taller than the locals, come on! She’s a MODEL! she is taller than the rest of us as well) and the picturesque surroundings very interesting. I haven’t tried the quality of their clothes, but the Anthropologie catalogues and campaigns are very original. xo

  3. I have seen these photos before but of course I had no idea where they were shot. I’m with Ada on this one, I like the contrast. After all it’s a catalog so I don’t really think any rules apply here.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  4. AWWW thank you so much for sweet words on my blog..I really love your blog also and will follow. Wanna see some IKEA spring…check out my new post:)
    I wish you a great week with lots of sun:)

    LOVE Maria at inredningsvis

Leave a Reply

